Breaking the Ice by Mandy Baggot

For Mandy Baggot fans, the 3rd May has been marked down in diaries as the date her new book, Taking Charge is released! To tide over the anticipation of this event, I decided to download the last of her books I haven’t read – Breaking the Ice! Dancing on Ice fans, this is definitely one you have to pick up.

Meet our heroine Samantha, London based, almost West End box office assistant, at Civic Hall. Slightly neurotic, uber efficient and  overwhelmed by social situations. She’s been working at Civic Hall for the last 5 years, is committed to  her job, loves the history behind where she works, the shows and not to forget the regulars.

Meet the hero, Jimmy Lloyd, once a gold medallist ice skater, now on tour with “Skating on Broadway” (playing at the Civic Hall) and a recovering alcoholic.

The dilemma: unbeknownst to the motley crew at the Civic Hall, the local council’s Art budget isn’t big enough to keep 2 entertainment venues open in the same area. Could this be the end of Civic Hall? Can Jimmy help “Sam” to save her second home?

The book opens with Samantha stuck in her work freezer, surrounded by 4000 tubs of Berry Fruits ice cream, courtesy of her incompetent boss, Dave. We quickly learn that despite her title, Samantha has many hats on at work, which leaves her with little time for herself. There is quite a lot of comparison to/history about  her older sister Chloe – her opposite; blonde, outgoing and the a bit of a sexual predator. I’m not sure how necessary that was to the story, as we learn more about Chloe as we go on anyway, but once I got past what was an initial hiccup for me, I really got into the story. I loved the subtle introduction of the two main characters to each other, their time on the ice and how they helped each other out. Samantha’s character definitely evolves throughout the book and could it be that Jimmy is much more boy next door than the tabloids would have you believe? As usual Mandy manages to intersperse her writing with humour (how many times have you used a mannequin as a battering ram, sober?) and once again managed to include an unexpected twist to the story. Without giving too much away, as reunions go this wasn’t what I was expecting and I loved how the scene surprised me.

I’m not sure why this was Mandy’s book I left to last. Growing up in the 80s, I love the romance around ice skating, Torvil and Dean and getting my yearly fix of Dancing on Ice. I’ve even donned the skates myself and taken a couple of classes! I’m glad I finally round to it though and for those of you missing DOI, look no further, this book has enough lean bodies, leotards, sequins and blindfolds (!?!) to keep you hot, hot, hot until next season!

Tags: ,

About uktreasure

Passion for reading and gadgets. Currently love all things Kindle - yes it travels with me most places. Attempting to downsize so also trying my hand at selling items on eBay and Amazon Marketplace

Leave a Reply

